Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choice to Make - Helpful input?

tag
Svnh

Choice to Make - Helpful input?

Hello,

This is my first time posting, though I have been reading for a few days now.    My credit scores are currently in this ballpark:

TU - 580 on 8/1

EQ - 645

EX - 580

I'm not sure why Equifax is so much higher than the rest, but my situation is as follows:

I've been working with a mortgage broker for pre-approval, and recently (just at one month) I paid off 4 of 6 negative items on my credit report.    2 small ones ($500 each) still remain.

I currently have a secured installment loan with payment of $152 per month as well as I am an authorized user on one credit card with a credit limit of $2500 with only like ever being $100 used on it.  Both are relatively new, and the scores above are AFTER the new accounts hit and affected the score however it was going to.

I was told yesterday to let everything ride, and he would pull my credit reports again at the beginning of September, and that would give the best chance of all 3 scores being over 640 in order to finance a home.    

Issue - This evening the car that I was nursing along decided it no longer wanted to be nursed, and stopped in the middle of the road, to never start again.    After the tow truck brought me home, I sit here wondering what to do.    I only work about 10 blocks from my home, and I have no family or little kids, so I simply need a car that is dependable without being expensive.    I have no real alternatives cash-wise at this moment, as I pretty much strapped myself to get my credit report cleaned up (and of course, it would occur right now).      I'd seriously just walk to work for a couple months if there weren't some questionably unsafe areas in those 10 blocks between myself and work, and/or if I didn't work until 10 pm at night.    But it's just not wise.