Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Citicards Charge Off Question

tag
austin_credit_mom
Established Member

Citicards Charge Off Question

Hi all! I need some advice. I've been working for the past 9 months on cleaning up my credit. Thanks to this board, my score has gone up about 100 points at the three credit bureaus.

I have a Citicard charge off for about $4700. This account was opened in 2004 and closed 9/2010. This is one of the last pieces of negative informaiton on my credit report. About 6 months ago there was a collection agency that was handling my account. I sent them a debt validation letter and they sent me back (exactly 30 days later) a printout of my credit card statements.  When I tried to get back in touch with the collection company they said they no longer handled my account. It was back at Citibank. So now Citicards still owns this debt and I have been dealing with them directly. I have sent them several GW letters, with no luck. I've spoken on the phone with them many times, with no luck. Basically they say I need to pay this in full and they can't delete this from my credit report.

So my question is, should I just pay it so my credit report will reflect this as paid? Should I not pay this and wait for the SOL in my state (Texas) to kick in? Should I continue to try to negotiate with them for a delete on my credit report? I would love some advice here. Thank you to all that have helped my in my credit repair journey!

Equifax 648

Experian 671

TransUnion 644

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Citicards Charge Off Question

You have two different issues.  One is exclusion or deletion of the reported CO from your credit report, and the other is the debt itself.

If you choose to wait-out the 7 yrs plus 180 days from DOFD, the CO will then become excluded from your credit report, and cease to affect your scoring.

So that is an option.