cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clawing my way back to responsible creditworthiness.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Clawing my way back to responsible creditworthiness.

Newbie here. Over the last week, I have been immersed in these forums as I’m looking for guidance and suggestions as to how I can rebuild my creditworthiness. Like many people of a certain era, I was offered credit cards in the mail when I graduated from *high school.* (This was in the 1990s.) I think I got more credit cards than I got college acceptances. I remember turning 18 and getting pre-approval for the green charge card from American Express. "Sure! Why not?” I said to myself. “The card is green, cash is green, so by the transitive property, it’s just like cash!” I say that hyperbolically, as I wasn’t that naive. But then again, my spending habits and credit irresponsibility over the next decade or two reflected an ethos of, “I’m gonna live hard and die young anyway, so scr_w the creditors!” 

Well, here I am going into the fourth decade of my life, and guess what? I’ve lived hard but didn’t die.

And the creditors, well, they’re still here too. (I’ve managed to pay my credit cards on time over the years, but then decided to go all-cash five or ten years ago. But I also got very irresponsible with student loan repayments.)

So over the last three weeks I’ve decided to clean up my credit, establish new credit sources and, for the first time in my life, to be responsible and act like an ad_lt. (Sorry for the profanity.)  I wanted to say thank you to everyone here and on the Student Loans board for sharing their stories. It’s not just the real-world advice, which I have been able to use, but the camaraderie and support. I blame no one else but me for the pickle that I’m, but it makes it so much easier when I read success stories. Thank you.