cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close a credit account or keep it?

tag
DannyC990

Close a credit account or keep it?

I'm a 22 y/o college student trying to establish credit. I currently have 2 secured credits (PNC and Capital One) and a Speedway/SuperAmerica gas card.

My question: I've had my PNC secured since September 2011 and it expires this upcoming March. I'm wondering if I should allow it to expire. My secured cards don't get much use, I have a recurring bill on both to show activity. My Speedway card is one that get used the most, but it is paid in full every month.

I've had PNC/Capital One cards since September 2011 and my Speedway card since July.

Current credit cards:
PNC Secured, Capital One Secured, Target, Ashley Funiture/Synchrony, Sears MasterCard
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
shorrttyycm1
Frequent Contributor

Re: Close a credit account or keep it?

I personally would keep all three as 3 revolvers seem to be ideal. also do u have student loans? Those would count as installments which helps your mix. they helped my mix but YMMV. hope this helps!

Starting Score: 530
3-2013Score: TU 680 EQ 683 EXP 679 FAKO
Current Score (lender pull): TU 693 EQ 649 EXP 699 Lender Pull
Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 7
DannyC990

I currently have federal loans, but as I am in school, I am not paying on them yet.

I am at looking at take some courses this summer, and I will probably need a personal/student loan to help cover expenses. My credit score isn't bad, I'm just trying to get as good as I can just in case I do need the loan

Current credit cards:
PNC Secured, Capital One Secured, Target, Ashley Funiture/Synchrony, Sears MasterCard
Message 3 of 7
HiLine
Blogger

It is almost never a good idea to close a card that doesn't have a maintenance fee.

Message 4 of 7
DannyC990