Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cohen & Slamowitz: Midland Funding

tag
CreditCardDiva
Regular Contributor

Cohen & Slamowitz: Midland Funding

What should I do?

I have a public record civil judgement on two of my credit reports, from Midland Funding.  The judgement was filed in  Queens NY (I don't live and have never lived in NY) for someone with my name and SS#, and a NY address.  I've filed online disputes with both credit bureaus, and spoke with Experian directly.

I called the court in Queens earlier today, asking for information on who was served, when it happened, etc.  They referred me to Cohen & Slamowitz, the law firm representing Midland. I called and was transferred to a 'Lynda" who is an attorney.  I explained that I have no knowledge of this judgement/debt (Providian 2001 account), that I was not properly served and I had no opportunity to defend myself, and I need documentation on the supposed debt,  when I was served, and where. I did verify my name, address and ss#.

She said that it's "obvious" there was a mixup and that I wasn't served properly according to the law. She asked for proof (IRS tax info from 2007) of my address at the time the judgement was served, and stated she would have the info removed from my credit reports, once she received verification. I will have the info from the IRS in a week. Do I send it? Do I let the credit bureau handle it, and then go from there?

Credit Rebuild Start Date (3/12)
Oakland County CU Visa ($500) | Capital One Quick Silver One ($600) | Capital One Secured MC ($200) | Walmart ($1600) | PayPal Credit ($1000) | Jared ($3500) | Victoria's Secret ($850) | Gettington ($3500) | Amazon Store Card ($850) | NewEgg Preferred ($2400) | Discover IT ($1500) | Dillard's AMEX ($1500) Target ($1500) | Overstock Store Card ($1200) | Kohl's ($1500) | Old Navy ($650) | Macy's Store Card ($800) | The Limited ($350)
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Cohen & Slamowitz: Midland Funding