Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cohen and Slamowitz NEED HELP!

tag
Errin1
Contributor

Cohen and Slamowitz NEED HELP!

I have sent them an order to show cause over a debt. They say they're suing me on behalf of MRC Receivables for a debt for Cross Country Bank. I dug into my old credit reports and did find an old debt from a 2002 credit report that says the credit card was opened in 1998?!? (I have no knowledge of opening the card I do remember calling Cross County to question the debt back in 2002 and they didn't/couldn't help me.) The card was  was charged off in 2000. Is this still a viable debt? It doesn't show on any of my recent credit reports and I honestly do not remember opening this card.

I got a letter in the mail today with a paper of affirmation in opposition to order to show cause. According to what they wrote they claim they delivered a notice to me but it was returned as undeliverable back in 2005!!! (bogus, Ive lived here since 1994) I am due in  court on Monday 7/18

hr> src="http://i.imgur.com/LEYWe.png">Starting Score: TU 610 EQ 655 - 8/2010
Current Score: EQ 714 9/13 EXP 708 8/13 TU 717 8/13
Goal Score: too much of a yoyo, maintain the 700's for 2013

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
rckstrscott
Valued Contributor

Re: Cohen and Slamowitz NEED HELP!

They cannot sue you for an uncollectable debt. What state do you live in? It is more than likely past the statute of limitations and they are just huffing and puffing. If you do have a court date on Monday you better show up though. If you don't they will enter a default judgement against you.

Worst case, if it is collectable, ask the judge for continuance so you can get legal representation, and then use the time between the dates to either pursue countersuit or settlement if the debt is collectable and yours.

-scott

Starting FICO Score: October 2010: TU 498 | EQ: 502
Current FICO Scores:: May 2022: TU: 784 | EQ: 770 | EX: 790