Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection Agency Settlement?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collection Agency Settlement?

Hello,

Recently had a collections agency win a judgement on a CC debt of about 4k. Ive been paying 200 per month for a few months. Recently they said they would settle for $2600. I could probably pay this in full in about 3 months.

Questions:

How bad does the judgement itself impact my credit scores? This happened about 6 months ago.

Will setteilng for the reduced amount ($2600) now help (because its paid off?) or hurt (because its a reduced payoff) my credit score?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Collection Agency Settlement?

Neither. FICO doesn't factor in settled vs PIFed. It just sees a judgment (even unpaid) as a judgment.

Your best bet score-wise is to negotiate a deletion (or rather, since it's a judgment and not "that easy" to delete -- a vacatur of the judgment). Ask the atty you're dealing with, if it's possible, if in return for paying in full (or, heck, try settling) they will file a motion to vacate for you. Some will. Some won't. But it's the best way to see a nice increase -- and get a pesky PR off your CRs.
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the information. Any idea what the turnaround time would be in regards to an increase in my fico score if the attorney is able to vacate?

How much of an increase could I expect to see in my score?

Thanks again!
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
Thanks for the information. Any idea what the turnaround time would be in regards to an increase in my fico score if the attorney is able to vacate?
How much of an increase could I expect to see in my score?
Thanks again!