Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection Agency question

tag
DaBears
Senior Contributor

Collection Agency question

Im new to the message boards and need help with this. I checked all 3 credit reports and I have 2 medical collections on there from 2007. The collection agency is listing the loan type as COLLECTION AGENCY/ATTORNEY. Would that be accurate or misleading me to believe or trick me into calling them? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Collection Agency question

It may or may not be accurate, some attorneys do collections work.   Just do a search on the name of the CA to find more information.    You might also want to look into the statute of limitations for your state of residence to know where you stand if you do end up talking with them.    

I doubt that they are trying to trick you into calling them though.  

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Message 2 of 8
DaBears
Senior Contributor

I live in IL and the statue of limitations for open acccounts debt collections is 5 Yrs. The name of the collection agency is MIRAMED REVENUE GROUP. website states nothing about attorneys just a collection company.

Message 3 of 8
fishbjc
Senior Contributor

If the sol is up, I'd try to settle with them for a full deletion.  Medical bills aren't that difficult to remove anyway, so they may be willing to go for it.  Of course, I would start at 25% and see what they say.  Get EVERYTHING in writing IF they agree to a deletion.  THEN, only then, make the payment.

Follow-Up with the bureau to make sure they took care of the deletion.

Keep all correspondence in a safe place for future reference.

Message 4 of 8
DaBears
Senior Contributor

Got a consumer attorney to remove the listing off my reports and he is going after the collection agency. They can't verify anything pertaining to the accounts and they can't list themselves as collections/attorney as a loan type.