Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection accts :(

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collection accts :(

Hi! I'm new, so please be sparing with the abbreviations (unless you provide their meaning lol).

Okay, so I'm a full time college student working three jobs, will be graduating in December. With that said, I have no health insurance and was unemployed or underemoyed for the past several years. On four different occasions since 2009 I have had to visit the ER, and the leftovers of the bills have moved onto collections. All range from $244-$690. I now have to money to pay a couple in full, or even more if I'm able to arrange a payment plan.

Here's the actual question: how heavily do medical bills impact my ability to buy a car (looking to finance about 10g)? Also, if I go in and try to pay some off, will this actually help me or hinder me? I've read on here a couple times that if I poke a sleeping beast, I may awaken them and reprocussions will occur.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm doing fine in all other areas of my credit, got a 25pt increase in January. Hoping to receive at least 60 more by August. Thanks!
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Repo-ed
Senior Contributor

Re: Collection accts :(

A paid collection or a non-paid collection impact your score the same.

A non-paid collection will hurt you more in a manual review.

I would start offering PFD (Pay for deletions) and see how that goes.

You may be able to look around here for HIPPA deletions.

5/2012: 560 credit scores across the board
12/2014: 750+
3/2017: 780+
11/2019: 833
2/2023: Experian via Chase United Explorer CC pull - 891
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks Smiley Happy. What are HIPPA deletions?
Message 3 of 4
rckstrscott
Valued Contributor

@Repo-ed wrote:

A paid collection or a non-paid collection impact your score the same.

A non-paid collection will hurt you more in a manual review.