cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Concerned--some collection company trying to serve me papers! Help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Concerned--some collection company trying to serve me papers! Help!

So, I am concerned.  Someone came by my apartment today and attempted to serve me papers--I was not home, but spoke with the person who tried to deliver them--she said she didn't know the company (just the messenger) but it said it was from "Bonded Collections".  Help!  What do I do?  Do I accept the papers?  I don't have a ton of money sitting around to pay off a debt in one lump sum, but am afraid they will threaten to garnish wages or something--what are my options?  I'm doing my best to rebuild my credit and will NOT allow some judgment to find its way onto my report, but how do I avoid it if I don't have the $$$ to pay up front?  I'm a student for crying out loud.

Thanks for your help!

N

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Concerned--some collection company trying to serve me papers! Help!

Well if they are trying to serve you - IMO it is always better to just go ahead and let them serve you because they will find some shady way to consider it done and you could get screwed.

Example - depending on the laws where you live they could leave it taped to your door and it could get stolen and you would never know what was inside... then if you end up missing the court date because you didn't know about it... you automatically loose.

No good can come from avoiding the inevitable. Its better to accept it and have time to get prepared. You can always ask to have your court date moved up.