Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could military moving affect my credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Could military moving affect my credit?

Hello all, I am a newbie at this and do not understand the lingo so if anyone could help me that would be great. I joined the US military and shipped overseas for the next 3 1/2 years before coming back stateside. During my last 3 months of being there (while out-processing the base) I recieved a letter saying that we have turned you into the Credit Bureau. I GUESS I had a cell phone that I did not cancel (even though I did call them and cancel) 'bu anyways'. I called and told them I never recieved a letter of any sort, and they stated that, "they were sorry, but there is nothing they could do" and that I "need to take care of that bill and wait 7 years." I had 3 negative reportings on my credit while overseas that I never knew about. What can I do to try to get those taken off. I have already disputed them "online" with no avail. Can I write a letter? What do you fine people recommend, and thank you so much.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
sobreezy
Contributor

Re: Could military moving affect my credit?

Since you already started the first step the next is to write a letter.  But you have to decide what type of letter you will be writing.  Will the letter be a PFD - pay for deletion; investigation (forcing them to provide documents that debt belongs to you); removal.  One great website that I went to that has free sample letters that you can tailor to you and your situation is: unfortunately I'm not sure if I can post it hear but if you wanted to I could send it to your AKO.  The site is pretty awesome.  Also there is a credit repair program that gets rid of a lot of stuff on your CR in about 37 days but that one cost about 25 bucks which is well worth it if you don't want to do it yourself. But I would definitely go to the first website that is listed.  Let me know if you want it and Good luck.