cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Rebuilding Newbie

tag

Credit Rebuilding Newbie

I apologize if this post already exists somewhere. Frankly, there are so many... and I tried to sift through them for hours finding something specific to my situation.

So--

I am new to trying to rebuild my credit. Just pulled my first credit report and it is terrible. Nothing is a suprise, but I didn't know it was that bad. Now that I have graduated and gotten a full-time job, I would like to pay these debts off. I don't need to validate the debt. They are mine. I'm not trying to cheat anyone, I believe in paying what I owe. With so many different collectors mailing and calling me, I'm not sure how to go about paying things off. My worst fear is to write a check to someone and they don't apply it to my balance/take it off my credit.

I have three badies... with Portfolio Recovery, LVNV Funding, and Midland Credit Management. How do I go about paying them? I've called the original creditors and they won't deal with me at all. Sad, really. Has anyone ever had a decent experience with these "second-hand" companies? Everytime I do a web search I see nightmare stories of money being paid but not applied to the debt. I see their contact information on my report and I want to contact them, I just would like to know what to expect.

Please advise!

Also, a few other random questions:

1. I often get those "settle now for 60% of what you owe" letters in the mail. Should I take advantage of those, or is that just a gimmick and I'll just end up paying the total anyway?

2. Is it better that I wait til I have the full amount they are requesting, or make a payment plan?