Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Score Help

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Score Help

So I've been rebuilding my credit for the last 2 years.   (The goal is to buy a home).

I had a mortgage broker pull a credit report for me the last week of May.

My "Middle" credit score was 610.

The mortgage broker informed me that I need a 620.

Since then, I've paid the last account I had that was in collections.

This increased my score to 617.

I am currently disputing a judgment (that was paid off) and hoping it gets marked as paid.

I am also disputing the 4 paid collection accounts (all medical) in hopes they get removed.

I really don't know what else to do.

Any way I can get this score bumped up??

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
apandabear
Regular Contributor

Re: Credit Score Help

What do your credit cards look like right now? Are you carrying a balance? On how many cards? How much of your available credit have you used up?

Depending on your utilization percentage, you might see a bump by paying off/down credit card balances.

2009-10 - C/Os
2011 - Debts paid, no open credit
2012 - Rebuilding started, secured cards opened, SL rehabbed - EQ myFICO 636
2014 - 10k Discover, 3.5k Freedom, AmEx Green, SL, Auto Loan - EQ myFICO 695
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have about $1500 of available credit and I am using about 70% of that.

If I pay off my balance to zero, how long will it take for my score to go up the 3 points that I need?

Message 3 of 8
apandabear
Regular Contributor

Yeah, paying that down will help a LOT.

How many credit cards do you have?

Wisdom around these forums says pay all cards except one down to zero, and let that one card report a small balance (less than 10% of that card's credit limit). 

When it will help your scores depends on when your cards report to the bureaus. Generally, they report on your statement date (when you get your bill).