Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit newbie advice!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit newbie advice!!

Just looking for advice. Im new to credit after years of honestly being ignorant and not thinking it mattered much . Silly me. But fast forward.

ive had my secured platinum from cap1 for 5 months ($200 limit) thats paid in full twice a month, overstock store card ($250 limit) and $13,000 still of student loan debt

I keep getting offers for credit one but ive been ignoring them. I received an offer recently for merrick for their double line visa. Limit of $900 then doubles but the apr is around 24% Says no af or set up fees etc. Seems good but ive read soooo many mixed reviews.  Is it worth it? Just to use for netflix or something?

also ive suddenly got pre-qual offers on amex site but that seems like a cruel joke (tu score is only 596) so im scared to try that. I dont get pre-quals anywhere else.

Im leaning towards waiting another month for cap1 to hit 6 month mark. My goal is to buy a house within the next 2-3yrs. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks 😊
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit newbie advice!!

What is your EX score? Amex uses EX, they’ve seemed to lower their expectations but 590’s might be a bit too low just yet. If I were you I’d let things keep aging and let your scores increase some more before applying for anything else. That way you’ll qualify more better cards in the near future.
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Im not sure of my ex score. I tried to get my credit reports but they wanted me to call them and i just haven't had time with work. I use the discover site for the FAKO score and that says 642
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable