Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit rebuild strategy

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit rebuild strategy

At 27 years old I was a second-year law student, married to a pharmacist, and had a good credit score. Two years later I was unemployed drug addict who got kicked out of law school and was getting divorced.

That was in 2012, and I have not paid a single Bill since.

I have been clean now for three years, and my life is starting to come together fairly well. I'm working, and actually making pretty decent money. There's a new lady in my life, who I think might have potential to be my future wife. However my credit score is about as rotten as it gets. It's right around 490.

I owe about 150k in student loans, including 3k in a Perkins loan that is causing issues.

Other than that, on my credit report are a handful of credit card type debt so I have defaulted on. An old PayPal account at 2800, two credit cards at about 800, a cable bill at 70, and something else that is about 500.

I have not paid or acknowledged these debts since 2012.

Would it be more advantageous for me to start repaying these old debts?

Or should I wait the 3 more years until the 7 year fall off?

Also, I can't get approved for an unsecured card, would getting a secured one help someone in my situation rebuild their credit?

What steps would you take in my situation?

I have literally not paid a single cent on any of these since 2012.

Thanks for any advice.
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit rebuild strategy

First, congrats on being clean for three years and counting!