Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DOFD Differences...

tag
thomasjm99
Regular Contributor

DOFD Differences...

So...  I have a repo from a vehicle I had to surrender 5 years ago. There's a long drawn out story as to how all this happened but I'll spare folks the details unless ya'll really wanna hear... Short version is I work in IT, and contracts are often sold/outsourced so I had a period where consistent employment was shaky for a bit.

The odd thing is that EXP has my DOFD as Sept 2010 when I had a single 30 day late due to a mixup caused by deferment paperwork being misplaced when I was in between jobs. Anyway...  EXP has this repo set to fall off this month, YAY!!  However, EQ and TU have a different DOFD despite reporting the same information and show the tradeline to be reporting until 2019. So I have two questions:

Is this common?

Is there any way to get EQ and TU to report the same DOFD as EXP?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: DOFD Differences...

I assume that the repo resulted in a loss by the creditor.  Otherwise, it would not be governed by DOFD as the basis for the calculation of the exclusion date.

The creditor was required to separately and explicitly report the DOFD on their account to the CRA within 90 days after reporting a charge to profit and loss or its equivalent.  See FCRA 623(a)(5).  There should thus be no difference between the DOFD that the same creditor reports to different CRAs.

Basing a DOFD on the date of a reported 30-late is not proper.

For several reasons, the date of a first reported 30-late is not necessarily the DOFD.

The creditor could have delayed in reporting a 30-late.  It is common for some creditors to delay reporting of a 30-late.