Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DV Letter had a 2/3 Success...advice needed pls

tag
Cheshiregrl
Contributor

DV Letter had a 2/3 Success...advice needed pls

I sent a regular dv letter even though I'm a TX resident to NCC Business Services to validate 2 separate open collections. I also disputed the validity of the debt with the 3 cras. NCC Business Services sent back a response that seems to include most of the info except the surety bond number. They sent it certified/return receipt letter back! Is that normal lol? 

Both Equifax and Experian deleted the collections on Oct 1 and Oct 3 but TransUnion validated it. I just sent a certified MOV letter to TU. I didn't receive the certified response from NCC until Sept 28th and TU completed the dispute on Oct 2nd.

Is there anything I can do about NCC? Did I mess up by not sending the TX Finance DV? 

Starting Score:MyFico EQ 651 6/14
MyFico TU 676 7/14
MyFico EX 670 8/14
Current 3-bureau score watch 3/15:EQ 736 EX 687 TU 783
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Cheshiregrl
Contributor

Re: DV Letter had a 2/3 Success...advice needed pls

Bump

MyFico TU 676 7/14
MyFico EX 670 8/14
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

They technically don't have to give your the Surety Bond number, they are required to have an active one filed during debt collection practices. I just looked on the SOS website and NCC does have an active one. Going forward, is the debt actually yours?

Message 3 of 6
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

You have separate issues of debt validation and an FCRA dispute over validity of the debt.

I wont respond to the DV issue, as they have no requirment to respond within any set period.

What is relevant is that any responses directly from the debt collector relate to the DV, and not the dispute under the FCRA.

The FCRA dispute is resolved by the CRA sending their Notice of REsults directly to the consumer, not by any response from the debt collector.