Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DV letter vs PFD letter vs GW letter

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

DV letter vs PFD letter vs GW letter

Hi,

I'm still SUPER new to the fourms and credit clean-up. Unfortunately, i was an idiot years ago and didn't care about my credit. I would like to buy a house by the time I am 33 (which would be Oct of 2011). My current scores are EQ-539 and TU-595. I have some old accounts that i am hoping will fall off in the next 18 months. I have some old collections that are paid and marked closed and I have some current collections. The only open account I have that is still open that is showing late payment is a student loan that the payments started on 2 years ago after I graduated, and I got them deferred again now that I am back in school. After reading alot of the posts here, I'm still a little hazy on when to write a DV, PDF or GW letter. I have the money to pay off my current collections, if that makes a difference. I was hoping someone could give me a summary of when to write each type, and if they have any good examples of each. I am really full-go now to improve my credit. I think I can do it. I finally make decent money so i can pay off old stuff if need be. I'm hoping the old stuff falling off will help me alot. From 11/08 to 1/10, my TU score went from 503 to 595, so I'm thinking if I stay on the straight and narrow I can maybe approach 700s across the boards by 10/11. Sorry this was so long-winded!! This community is the best out there in terms of support and ideas and just general nice people. Thank you in advance.

Ryan

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: DV letter vs PFD letter vs GW letter

Hi, Darkman.

You DV primarily to request a collection agency to verify the debt, and to stop their active collection actiity until such time as they may choose to verify.