cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DV question... What if no one signs for it?

tag
Marcos8
Established Contributor

DV question... What if no one signs for it?

Hello all. Sent out my first DV today. I've never done this before now so I'm just trying to think logically about my next steps. The first question that came to my mind was what if the collection attorney that I sent this to never accepts or signs for my DV which I sent CMRR? What if they claim they never received anything from me and therefore proceed with collection activity? I of course have my stubs from the post office etc... Does this happen a lot? How long do I wait for a signature confirmation and if I don't get one what do I do next? Thanks

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: DV question... What if no one signs for it?

@Marcos8 wrote:

Hello all. Sent out my first DV today. I've never done this before now so I'm just trying to think logically about my next steps. The first question that came to my mind was what if the collection attorney that I sent this to never accepts or signs for my DV which I sent CMRR? What if they claim they never received anything from me and therefore proceed with collection activity? I of course have my stubs from the post office etc... Does this happen a lot? How long do I wait for a signature confirmation and if I don't get one what do I do next? Thanks

DVs should only be sent certified with tracking, not siggy required. CAs tend to use drop boxes and wont sign for anything. if it comes back send it again without RR siggy required. The PO at their end will try to deliver it for 2 weeks before sending it back to you.

Message 2 of 6
Marcos8
Established Contributor

Thanks for the response. Should I just send it again now just certified with tracking or is it better to wait a little? Thanks

Message 3 of 6
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

@Marcos8 wrote: