cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delinquent Student Loan Fell Off!

tag
mb1986

Delinquent Student Loan Fell Off!

I defaulted on a private student loan while I was still in school back in 2009. It was a private loan by Loan to Learn (Educap) with the original amount of $22,000 and they were impossible to deal with and there was no way I could make payments at that time. Even when I graduated during the recession it took a while before I could land my first job and the extremely high interest kept accruing, eventually got sued, finally got it settled and started making payments but my past due amount was so large it took forever to get caught up which I now am and making consistant payments on. Long story short, I noticed my credit score shot through the roof and I didn't know why, everything else on my report is perfect except this loan which caused me to be denied for anything I applied for. I did research and found out that my Date of First Delinquency (DOFD) was January 2009 which is now more than 7 years ago so the entire account was removed from my credit report so now my credit report looks amazing Smiley Happy

Has this happened to anyone else? Is it really off of my report for good??? I just assumed it would continue to ruin my credit until time went by, but didnt realize the whole tradeline would get removed even though I have been delinquent up until a few months ago as I worked hard to get caught up.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
cem13
Established Contributor

Re: Delinquent Student Loan Fell Off!

@mb1986 wrote: