Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digging Out

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Digging Out

Hi everyone,

Total newbie here, but I am trying to dig out of a credit score of 615.  I have a 5 year old Chapter 7, some medical collections, and 2 really old 30 days that are killing me.

Any suggestions?  I know I need to pay down the balance of one of my CC but I'm also struggling with successful goodwill letters.

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated!

Jen

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
tomfromrictmame
Frequent Contributor

Re: Digging Out

I can't provide any guidance on your BK, but can tell you any Collection Account will have a (relatively) significant impact on your overall profile.  That said, medical collections are oftentimes easier to deal with than other collection accounts (do a Google search).  It is also a widely held belief that 30 day lates over 3 years old do not have that much of an impact.

AMEX Platinum NPSL | BofA Cash Rewards Visa $50K | NFCU Sig Visa $27K | Chase Marriott Rewards Visa $25K | AMEX Delta Skymiles $25K | BofA Sig Visa $25K | First Tech Odyssey MC $25K | AMEX HHonors Surpass $23K | Chase United Club Unlimited Visa $20K | Barclays AAdvantage WMC $17K | NFCU LOC $15K | NASA Platinum Visa $15K| NFCU Sig Visa $14K
Message 2 of 6
KellyP25721
Frequent Contributor

Are the medical collections paid or unpaid?  If they are paid, you might want to see if they will do pay for delete (PFD) on them.  If they are paid, you definitely want to start a GW letter campaign.  I had the best luck getting paid medical collections removed by contacting the original creditor (OC) and pleading my case.  I was able to get 8 paid medical collections with 3 different collection agencies (CA) removed this way.

On the 30 day lates, I would definitely work on goodwill removals of those as well.  If you still have those accounts, try calling them and asking them for a one time removal, otherwise start sending GW letters.