cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover Hitting my Mailbox hard...Should I take the bait or wait?

tag
Repairman
Established Contributor

Discover Hitting my Mailbox hard...Should I take the bait or wait?

Ok, so I've been working hard to rebuild my credit for about 6 months now, and have seen wonderful improvement in my score, as I'm currently sitting in the high 600s (up from the low 500s), however, I have several "recent" baddies in my report. 1 charge off (which is paid in full as of 10/14), as well as 3 other closed accounts with late marks (all, also, now paid in full as of 8/14). I currently, now only have 3 open credit card accounts, all in good standing but with a collective cl of only about $4300.

Since I paid off all my cc debt, Discover has begun to send me applications for credit about every 3 weeks. I recently requested a cli from Bank of America, and BOA denied it, citing the late payments on my CR as one reason (despite the fact that I've had their card since 1998 and I have NEVER been late with them!), and citing my "low" amount of available credit and "too few open accounts"  as another. I want the Discover It card. My question is, should I apply now for the Discover It card, in order to have more credit available to me, in the hopes that that will help my score? (It's important to note my BOA credit limit increase request was 2 weeks ago, and BOA did a HARD PULL but it did NOT affect my Fico score at all). Or, is it better to hold off, say, another 6 months, to apply for the Discover It card, in the hopes that by then, I may be able to get a better credit line or a better APR or a better chance of being approved, as more time will have passed since my late payment delinquencies? To Wait or Not to Wait? Please help!!! I need good advice!

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Discover Hitting my Mailbox hard...Should I take the bait or wait?