cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dispute or Statement? – husband’s bankruptcy

tag
Underachiever

Dispute or Statement? – husband’s bankruptcy

I co-signed (not co-borrowed) a title loan for my husband through a credit union in 2009; he filed bankruptcy in 09/2010.  The vehicle securing the loan was my primary transportation, entirely in his name.  There were no other marital accounts; I didn’t file bankruptcy.  In October of 2010, the credit union presented a reaffirmation agreement in an amount 5 times the balance of the loan, which was approximately $1,300; if my husband didn’t agree, they would repossess the vehicle, despite that at that time the loan was still paid as agreed.  I had been paying the title loan since it began in 2009, up until I was instructed to stop doing so in October of 2010 by husband’s attorney, upon decision that we did not plan to reaffirm the loan for its “fair market value” of $7,600.00.  My credit was not yet flawed so I financed a car in mid October, to replace the one that was going to be repossessed.  The credit union never once attempted to collect from me the balance of the title loan, nor did they otherwise attempt to contact/notify me of what was occurring with the loan I had co-signed for.  It was as if they didn’t realize there was a co-signer, or they somehow thought I was included in the bankruptcy.  On the other hand, it was likely that their intent was to repossess that vehicle as an asset to recover their losses on his other accounts – the vehicle was the 2nd in his name, which I believe meant that it was exempt from any type of protection.