cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Doctor in need of credit repair surgery! Help please! Advice needed

tag
CreditComeUp

Doctor in need of credit repair surgery! Help please! Advice needed

I am currently a Doctoral student getting ready to apply for residency programs. I currently have poor credit and I very determined to turn my score around in the next 2 years. I'v been during research on the credit formulas and strategies to rebuild credit and I believe I have a good foundation for repairing my credit I am just unsure of the best place to begin. 

While in undergrad I got 3 CCs and messed them up royally. I am now a lot smarter regarding my funds and I am more knowledable about credit care. I am determined to reach 700! 

Stats:

Current score 509

Good Accounts:

Student loans (all deferred until graduation)

Bad accounts:

GE money: Charged off/  I paid the balance in full last year

expected fall off date is 11/2015

Citi bank: Charge off/ I paid the balance in full last year

expected fall off date is 7/2015

Capital: Charge off

balance: 1500$

Expected fall off date: 8/2015 

public record: A court document was opened on thier behalf: expected fall off 2/2017

* I wasn't sure if i needed to pay them off or let it fall off. I would like the public record to be removed sooner than 2017 though. 

I own a home (investment property) and a car I bought cash. So as of now I have no major bills (rent: student housing/doesn't report to the CRA) and no lines of credit open. Just trying to figure out the first step to take. I would love to be able to purchase a home in the next 2 years once I begin full time work as a doctor. 

Should I open a secured card? I have 1000$ I could use as collateral to secure the card. 

I was thinking about getting a collateral loan on my investment property (appraised for 60,000$) and financing it. Good idea? Bad idea?

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus