cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dunning notice....now what?

tag
stormidai

Dunning notice....now what?

Long story short, had to quit paying on credit cards in April and May of this year. We are not financially in a position to pay anything on any of them at this time, but will be able to do settlements and/or PIF on them when we get our tax return. I've gotten a few of the "going to charge-off letters" on a few accounts, and today I receive dunning notices for two of them (both Chase, through United Collections, one for me and one for hubby). The letters state that they are collecting for Chase and list amounts, along with the standard 30 day dunning notice speak. So....what now? These are definitely within SOL, and I really don't want to do anything that will rush them towards a lawsuit. Is a DV still an appropriate step? Will requesting only mail contact be appropriate as well? I'm really new to all of this and don't wanna make things worse than they already are :/
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Dunning notice....now what?

Unless you can PIF if they validate, I would not send a DV.  They may turn around a sue you.

There would be no need to send a C&D for mail only contact.  A DV puts in place a cease collection bar.  Meaning they cannot contact you in anyway about the debt.

Since they are only collecting on behalf of the OC, can you contact the OC and work out some sort of agreement to keep them from bringing suit?

Message 2 of 6
fishbjc
Senior Contributor

What sort of amounts are you talking about?  If they're huge, they may rush to a lawsuit or maybe not.  My sister was sued by Capital One for $1200.  I have one remaining for $2k and haven't heard a peep from them.  It's a YMMV type of thing.