Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equinfax score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Equinfax score

Just checked my score it was 497 I almost fell out 3 active collections and 3 paid collections 21 accounts and a average account age of 2 years and 9 monthS with 16 inq in the past 2 years. 78% uti on revolving and 113 on installment (student loans). I would like to purchase a house within a year what steps can I take to get " credit healthy"? 7 inq will fall off in July and 2 more in nov Co will drop dec of 2016.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
eparker
Frequent Contributor

Re: Equinfax score

Well, not sure if it can be done in a year.  I'm not an expert but I will give you my opinion.  I was in your situation, and I put myself on a 5 year plan.  I am two years into my plan.  First and foremost if you are not current on your obligations, get current on your bills.  You need to get your credit card utilization to 9% or lower.  I would try and get some of those inquiries off or let them fall off. 

You need to attempt PFD's on the active collections still reporting.  On the paid collections you need to attempt GW letters since you have already paid them.  The collection agency is not obligated to remove them.  But a GW letter is an option. 

I'm not saying it can't be done but give it a try.  I believe FHA requires a minimum 620 and 12 months of being current on obligations.

Good Luck

Starting Score: Mid 500's
EQ-701 TU-693 EXP-698
Goal Score:750+

NavChek $15,000/NFCU nRewards Visa $12,000/American Express Rewards Gold NPSL/USAA Rewards World Mastercard $7000/USAA Visa Platinum $7000/Barclay $3900/Credit Union Visa $5000/Jareds $7600/BofA Visa $4000/USAA MC $1500/Walmart $1200//Amazon $1000/Discover Card $750/Cap1 $2250.

the FICO Fitness Challenge
Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Message 2 of 6
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote: