Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Experian - 76 point drop

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Experian - 76 point drop

Hello,

I am a bit new so please forgive my ignorance.

I have been tracking all three of my scores nearly everyday for the last 6 months. I have been rebuilding my credit and have had significant improvements. Yesterday I pulled my Experian report and it dropped 76 points literally over night! I frantically went through all three of my reports searching for something negative and there was nothing. In fact the last "Alert" I received was from more than two months ago for a hard inquiry (I am trying to buy a house). My TransUnion and Equifax did not change at all.

So basically my credit report has not changed in two months but my score dropped 76 points in one day. Does this seem normal to anyone else? I called Experian and received non-American support who insisted that my hard inquiries from over two months ago were to blame. I don't know a lot but I have never heard of a hard inquiry affecting your credit that much, plus a two month delay? It does not make sense to me.

Does anyone have any insight? Is there anyway to talk to someone at Experian who actually has a clue? If I can't figure this out I am not going to qualify for the house. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Patrick

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Experian - 76 point drop

Hello and welcome to the forums.

I hate to be the one to tell you this but I doubt if any of your scores are FICO scores. At this time as far as I know there is no 3 in 1 monitoring service out there that sells FICO scores. All the ones you see on TV or online such as freecrditreport.com, freescore.com, etc. sell what we call FAKO scores because none of these "scores" are based on formulas used to calculate FICO scores and are really useless in determining your actual credit worthiness.