cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First CC to start rebuilding but so lost!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First CC to start rebuilding but so lost!

I originally posted this in the credit card section but I found this forum so I'm reposting. Mod can delete the one in credit cards if you want.

Hiii newbie here! In the past couple months I've been reading a lot of posts here which have been very helpful I just haven't posted.

I've been learning about credit repair for a while but finally took the plunge and actually applied for a card after using credit sesame. I got into a lot of trouble 5 years ago at 20 years old ... 3 charge off account and bad student loans. CO fall off in a few years. I've always assumed my credit was god awful because of those, but credit sesame showed it not being as bad as I imagined.. it shows 640. I guess because it's all so old it doesn't impact it as much, but having no credit for the past 5 years isn't helping. When I checked my discover score card a month or two ago it was like 540... big difference! So I didn't bother applying for cards since I saw a 540 score.

So once Credit Sesame showed I had a high approval chance, I applied and got the Capital One platnimum card with a $1,000 limit. Now I have no idea what to do with it to help my scores before I eventually go for an auto loan. I planned on just paying in full once I put the charges so I don't have debt but I'm learning I should leave a balance so it reports 1% utilization. I technically have no credit cards or open credit at all, but I am an authorized user on my moms card so on credit sesame it shows a 1% utilization I suppose from the authorized user card. Should I open more cards now while I already have an inquiry on this report ? Or just focus on my new card ? And the interest is very high so I'm not sure if leaving a small balance is smart or not.