cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time here, my situation, and anything else!

tag
jackiechiles54

First time here, my situation, and anything else!

Hi everyone. First time poster, I was directed here by some friends who received tremendous help and support so I decided to come here and reach out. I'm not entirely certain what I'm expecting to get out of this, but this at least seems like a first step to communicate with people more knowledgable than I am, so why would I turn that down. Here we go.

Short background: I just turned 30. My score is 585. I work in the legal field. I don't make millions, but I do okay. I rent. I have very low monthly overhead for living. My car is fully paid off. I'm not married, I don't have kids, and I don't live outside of my means. I have no credit cards. All of my monthly living expenses are paid on time, and are a very small/manageable fraction of my monthly income. I have no propertly/mechanics leins against me for anything, and all (the few) possessions I have I own outright. My very first (and only positive) line of credit was my car. I financed through a bank for 5 years when I was a junior in undergrad. This has been satisfied, and only blemish is I was 30 days late 2 times out of the 60 payments. For the last year I have been level headed, and mostly living cheap, saving as much money as I can, repairing one life issue at a time, and now everything is complete, and the last thing to address is my financial.