Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Late Payment Removed From Student Loan

tag
hippychic823
Regular Contributor

Re: Getting Late Payment Removed From Student Loan

So, if I understand this correctly...once something is PIF the CA has no obligation to keep it on your CR??? Sorry if I seem dense, I'm new to credit repair....
Message 11 of 16
lazerz69
Contributor

@hippychic823 wrote:
So, if I understand this correctly...once something is PIF the CA has no obligation to keep it on your CR??? Sorry if I seem dense, I'm new to credit repair....

You are not being dense. Smiley Very Happy  The feds have enacted several statutes that affect SLs. Smiley Frustrated

My argument would be that the plain meaning of the statute says that once PIF it can no longer be reported.  It appears that the statute may apply to Federal Perkins Loans.

Message 12 of 16
GiveJoy
Contributor

Any update? I am curious what you were able to do as I am in a similar situation.

Message 13 of 16
gamegrrl
Frequent Contributor

I've been trying for four years to figure out when the lates on my credit report that are related to my rehabbed (early 2009) student loans will drop off.

I've read everything I can find online, including sections 430A(f) and 463(c)(3) of the Higher Education Act of 1965, 20 U.S.C. 1080a(f) and 20 U.S.C. 1087cc(c)(3), and I still have no idea when my Nelnet and Sallie Mae lates will drop off.

I just want to know. Not knowing stinks. They should have to be much, MUCH more clear on this.

EX myFICO 850 - EQ myFICO 850 - TU myFICO 850
Goal Score: 800+ across the board! *DONE!!!*
Message 14 of 16
NewbieReed
Frequent Contributor

@gamegrrl wrote:

I've been trying for four years to figure out when the lates on my credit report that are related to my rehabbed (early 2009) student loans will drop off.