cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting late payments deleted - how?

tag
moneypenny02
New Contributor

Re: Getting late payments deleted - how?

Unfortunately, I am just getting around to this letter, but here it goes [A few facts need to be filled in, noted in brackets].  I would appreciate any feedback, thanks!

Also, if you have any insight re: mailing vs. emailing, that would also be appreciated.

To whom it may concern,

I am writing to request that you consider my “goodwill request” to remove your reporting of 120-day late payments on my student loan. 

I graduated from law school in 2011 and was initially unable to find employment.  I contacted my loan holders and obtained an unemployment deferment for what I believed to be all of my student loans.  While these loans were in deferment I never received any letters indicating that [THIS LOAN] was in repayment, nor did I receive any bills for this loan.  In [MONTH?], 2011, I received a letter from my university, at my permanent address, informing me that one of my loans had been in repayment, that I had missed multiple payments, and that they had bought back my loan as well as the loans of many other students.  I contacted them immediately, and worked out a payment plan even while I was still unemployed, in hopes of rectifying this unfortunate situation.  Since I received notice that the loan was in repayment, I have made [NUMBER] of monthly payments to the current loan holder.   

I am now employed in my field of study, and my wife and I are attempting to buy a home.  My credit record has no other negative factors, but the delinquencies have dramatically lowered my credit score and the presence of 120-day delinquency completely bars us from obtaining a home loan.  This one mistake on my part is preventing us from putting down roots and taking the next steps in building our family.