Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started and need some advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting started and need some advice

Hello all,

I am so thankful to have come across this forum today. We are currently at the very beginning stages of shopping for a mortgage - literally, just talking of applying. I'm a little hesitant to do it now, because of my credit report. Let me explain further.

In 2006, I graduated college and moved to NYC, only to find myself making enough money to pay enough on my credit cards to keep them open, so I could continue using them to survive. I made the decision that I would not live the rest of my adult life dependent on credit cards, and that it would stop then and there. In the fall of 2006, I stopped paying on ALL of my cards.

Flash forward 5.5 years later, and I've left the city life and would like to purchase a home with my family. While checking my report, I was surprised to see that it's as high as it is (I was expecting much worse). There is a mix of bad and good. I am hoping to use this forum to find out what I need to do to improve, and to get an idea of when I could potentially be approved for a mortgage.

Here is a breakdown of what it's showing:

The bad (collections):

RCS/CVF Consumer Aquisitions

- $5886 collection (also reported as the original Wells Fargo credit card)

- $3066 collection (also reported as the original Wells Fargo credit card)

Asset Acceptance

- $3773 collection (originally an Amex that is NOT being reported. Collections company trying to settle for amounts between 400-1000; will paying delete this?)

Macys 

- $492 120-days late, closed account

Capital One

- $3277 charge off

Paypal

- $700 chargeoff that was settled with a collector (I do not know why it's still on there)

The good:

- Public Savings Bank secured card, $500 limit (opened in 10/10, always on time, at about 80% of my balance right now)

- Installment Auto Loan $18,000 balance (opened in 7/11, always on time)