Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Goodwill's any one???

tag
savmeformyse
Valued Member

Goodwill's any one???

How many good wills is to many? I have been senting goodwill's to these two companies for the last 10 months Badcock and hoffman. Badcock keeps giving me the standard message of, Keeping in line with the Fair Credit Act Blah Blah.... We report all lates accurately Blah Blah Blah............ Hoffman however has never sent a response. What should I do I really would like to Get the lates remove to improve my score but they wont give in.

Starting Score: EQ: 583 TU: 623
Current Score: EQ: 624 TU: 701
Goal Score: Both Scores 680 Plus!

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Goodwill's any one???

GW letters are effectively a request to ask them to remove accurate prior reporting.  They are always correct in asserting that doing so would be a violation of their reporting agreements with the CRAs not to delete prior reporting based on payment of the debt that caused the reporting.  It is not really "blah, blah," it is their reportring obligation. So you need incentive for them to even consider deletion.

So any GW letter must offer them incentive, from their perspective, of a reason to act contrary to their reporting guidelines, and do a deletion.

Reasons must show benefit to them, and not to you. 

Message 2 of 14
Cinn

@RobertEG wrote:

GW letters are effectively a request to ask them to remove accurate prior reporting.  They are always correct in asserting that doing so would be a violation of their reporting agreements with the CRAs not to delete prior reporting based on payment of the debt that caused the reporting.  It is not really "blah, blah," it is their reportring obligation. So you need incentive for them to even consider deletion.