Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP, building credit.

tag
jordanhand
Contributor

HELP, building credit.

Hi I am completely new to this whole thing so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I seriously need to fix my credit as I've completely ruined it in the last 2 years. I've been using credit karma and credit sesame and they have me at 560 and I just applied for a secured card and it told me my score was 456? Which one is correct?

I have 0 credit cards

I have two collection accounts- 1 for $256.00 and one for $996.00 I just mailed a pay for delete letter to each of those hoping to get them taken off.

I have a car lease that ends 3/2015 and I need to get my credit up that way when my lease is over I can get another car.

* I pulled my credit report and I had a car loan for 16,000 that I paid off ( car was totaled) but there was 2 late payments while I was waiting for my insurance and everything and it is saying the account is being reported negatively although it has been paid off with only 2 late payments? Is this correct?

I was completely naïve and did not know that paying things late affected your credit score I thought it was only affected when you let something go to collections. Im 23 and moved out on my own when I was 17 so things are a slight struggle so I do often pay things late. Which I now know have HUGE impact on your score.

Without any credit cards and 2 collection accounts I don't really know how my score is this low, if I start making on time payments for the next year how much will this help?

Any suggestions as of where to start?

Credit Karma~Equifax-643
Trans union- 627
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
couponcrazy619
New Contributor

Re: HELP, building credit.

Hi and welcome to the forum.