cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hard Inquiry dropped Experian score by 74 points ?!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hard Inquiry dropped Experian score by 74 points ?!

Hi guys I'm new to this forum and site as a whole. But to keep it short and sweet I recently did a credit check for an apartment and my experian was 738. Now I see a new alert on my credit profile saying that due to the hard inquiry, the score dropped 74 points. Why is that? Don't inquiries typically drop your score by 3-25 points. So why so much? I am new to the credit, I'll be 21 on the 21st and I've only been building credit for 3 years.  But all of my accts are in good standing I pay my bills before they're due and I keep the utilization low. I have different types of credit and I'm very responsible with my money. My credit scores were 751 TU, 741 EQ and 738 EX. Now the Experian is 664? Why? I'm so heartbroken :-( 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Hard Inquiry dropped Experian score by 74 points ?!

Where is these score from? ITs FICO score or the score you gotten from the actual CR web site?  Some time inquries doesnt lower the score, some time it does its all depending on what you have in yoru files.

You seem to have a good mixed credit and good standing.  If these score is not FICO score then I wouldnt be worry about it, when lender pull your credit and score it will be from FICO score depending on what model the lender use to pull your credit report.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi sticky rice,

thanks for your reply! Actually all of those scores are from this site (myfico) so idk why it dropped so much?

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

IS there anything change in your file? I has to because just a hard pull wouldnt affect 74pt drop like that.

Message 4 of 10
credit-hunter
Frequent Contributor