Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Harvard Collections DV'ed and Removed!

tag
RadioRob
Established Contributor

Harvard Collections DV'ed and Removed!

Hey guys...

I've seen some posts about Harvard Collections sending several folks letters in the last few months in regards to a bunch of old Sprint accounts.  I received one as well for over $530 and when I originally DV'ed it, they sent me a printout of something that looked nothing like an actual bill, just with Sprint's name and some total due.

I replied to their letter again as several folks noted asking for a full verification (not just a printout) including something showing an itemized breakdown of expenses, proof that I agreed to the service, and that I received the service.  

The address they mentioned in the letter was valid, but it was during a time when I was in college.  The debt was supposed to have been nearly 3 years after I graduated.  This obviously was not correct so I asked them to prove this.  

I recieved a response today from Harvard saying "At the request of our client, the above referenced account has been colsed by Harvard Collection Services.  Please be assured that this account will be deleted from your credit report, and your credit record will no longer reflect this information."

This is still currently reporting, so I'm going to wait a month or so to see if it's actually removed.  But just wanted to pass a note along for anyone else who might also be dealing with Harvard.  

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Harvard Collections DV'ed and Removed!

Hey, I'm having the same problem with these guys. Would you mind giving me a redacted copy of the letter you used and the address you sent it to? There are a lot of people on here that Harvard has done this to, and I also know there were a few people ready to sue. Maybe they have finally figured out that they need to obey the law!! Care to share?
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable