cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have 5 collections, credit card charge offs and more!

tag
AmandaB

Have 5 collections, credit card charge offs and more!

This is my first time on here and I need help! Me and my husband are finally moving on with our life and our credit is hurting us really bad! We were both in the military with great credit (mine was 724) and we satisified our military contracts and go out in 2011. We had a hard time adjusting and getting work. We couldnt afford to pay our bills because we needed to pay rent and feed our two children. Well a year later, my score is 540!! I need help on where to start and how to get things deleted off my credit reports. Where do I start? Who do I disupte first? How to talk to collection agencies? They are constantly calling me and I never answer and I dont know what to say. We are 24 years old and are wanting to buy a house, now that my husband has a career. Any advice will help. Thank you.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Have 5 collections, credit card charge offs and more!

Hi and welcome to the forums.

Being in the military brought me to this site a little over 5 years ago and has done wonders for me.  It will you too.

First, if you haven't already, get all 3 of your reports from annualcreditreport.com.  You get 1 every 12 months from each CRA.

You will need to know what the DoFD of each account is (date of first delinquency) and your states SOL (statute of limitations) for debt.  It normally goes by the state you currently reside in.

The DoFD is the date that determines when an item will be excluded from your credit report.  It is the date you became delinquent and never brought your account current before it was sent to collections or charged off.   Your SOL normally starts from that date also.  However, if you have made a payment after that date, depending on your state, it could restart the SOL.