cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have a 560 Experian score and would like to purchase a home within 4 months

tag
caedy12

Have a 560 Experian score and would like to purchase a home within 4 months

My current Experian score is 560 which is a 31 point increase since June. I am working with a credit counselor right now to remove old accounts and collections from my credit report. I have established a new secured credit card with a $200 limit (3 months ago) and a new credit builder loan at my local bank (3 months ago). I also have an installment loan with Citifinancial (loan with them for about the past 3 years) which I have been making current payments on now for about 2 months (I did fall behind in December, but I am now current again). I am currently leasing my grandparent's house through an estate and my lease is up in November. At the end of the lease, I would like to purchase the home. My debt to income ratio is really good and I have been at my current job for 10 years. I also have great rental history going back 10 years. I am just wondering if it even seems possible to get my score up to where it needs to be by then in order to apply for a mortgage. Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Caedy

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Have a 560 Experian score and would like to purchase a home within 4 months

I'd save up to pay off Citifinancial. I would first send GW letters to them asking if they can remove the lates (assuming they are reporting). If they remove it from all 3, then I'd pay down/pay off the Citifinancial. That'll help your DTI if ever an issue. Also high-rate loans like Citifinancial are viewed as a negative by FICO. Unfortunately paying them off won't help in that department since it'll still report, but at least you'd save $$$ by paying it and that might help in the eyes of your lender.

I'd pay off the new loan ASAP.