Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello! New to MyFico and want to rebuild credit to buy a house and car in 2013

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello! New to MyFico and want to rebuild credit to buy a house and car in 2013

First off, HELLO from SoCal! Smiley Happy 

Here is my story in a nutshell. Husband and I started a business in our early 20s. Company folded, we were stuck with a lot of debt which we are still repaying. We are trying to get back on track and rebuild credit to buy a home in 2013. I just pulled up my Experian credit report and my score is 582! Eeek. 

I have 7 Potentially Negative Items on my account, one of which is an open credit card account which I have been making payments on 'on time' for the past 10 months. 

The other 6 negs. are:

1) I have two school loans (a direct federal loan and a loan through the school),

2) a $40 library fine!! (ugh) with Unique National Collections

3) an HSBC Charge off

4) A CA that bought my HSBC account (Portfolio Recovery Associates)

5) And my car loan through Wells Fargo which is now paid off but shows three late payments

I have 5 accounts in good standing. Two are credit cards which I need to pay down, I am using 80% of my available credit. 

Here is what I need to know, if anyone could provide some insight. I would like to know how I can get the charge off's off my credit report, it isn't paid, but I'm willing to pay a settlement. I've heard about the DV process, is it something I would attempt with the original creditor (HSBC)? 

How do I handle the library thing, it seems so ridiculous. I turned in the books, just late. 

Would anyone recommend a credit repair service? Or how do I start fixing my credit? 

My goal is to be part of the 700 club! 

Thanks in advance. 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
-Cain-
Valued Contributor

Re: Hello! New to MyFico and want to rebuild credit to buy a house and car in 2013