cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! First time home buyer with credit in rebuilding stage.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help! First time home buyer with credit in rebuilding stage.

Please Help! I'm 24; I graduated from college last year and recently (a month ago), I moved back with my parents to save for a house until the end of the year. For the past 6 months I have been working to rebuild my credit in preparation for purchasing my first home. When I first contacted a lender 6 months ago he gave me a few tips to improve my credit (back then scores were in the low 600s). These tips including paying down 2 of my credit cards, opening a third credit card and signing up with a credit repair company that he personally recommend. Well, I now have 4 CCs: BOA (oldest card-2013, 500 cl, 200 balance), Capital One Quicksilver (1500cl, 600 balance), Capital One Secured (200cl, 0 balance), and Victoris Secret (500cl, 0 balance). Other things on my cr: about $50,000 in students loans, 1 charged off cc (paid in full) from 2010, 1 30-day late payment on my BOA cc from a year and a half ago, and one installment loan that is a collections account ($990 balance).I also have about 10-12 inquires on each cr from the past 2 years which I know is bad. I have $5000 saved for a downpayment so far, I plan to have $10,000 by the time I start the pre-approval process in December. My salary is $38,500 and my DTI ratio is extremely low (about 6%). My current credit scores are Tu 613, EQ 670, EX 697

My questions:

I have tried with no luck to get the negative items removed from my credit report. Which items (if any), will be a deal breaker for the lender? Should I request a PFD for the collection account?

I plan on paying all my CCs off. Should I do this before pre-approval or before closing? Does it matter?

Are there any other ways to increase my credit score without applying for new credit?