Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help With Credit Dispute

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help With Credit Dispute

Hello. This is my first post. I usually am able to find answers in here, so have never had to post until now. I've been working on getting my credit rebuilt for the past 5 years. I finally went over 700 as of December and was very excited. Except my FICO score is still under 700. So of course I got my credit reports and checked EQ for negative accounts. The item on my credit report that is messing up my score is an old car loan I got back on 7/1999. It's listed as a charge off and that the DOFD is 2/2002. I'm angered for various reason. One, my EQ credit report from 2010 has this loan listed as paid off without any problems showing up. Now it's listed as a charge off. It also has 'date maj. del. 1st rptd' as 7/2011. I have disputed it with EQ because I was never aware this loan was a charge off. I made payments until I received the car title in 2002. I don't have the title anymore because the car was scrapped in 2005. The dispute came back and the only things changed were the date reported, of course, and it was changed from charged off to charged off paid. I contacted the bank to ask about the loan. They say it was charged off on 2/2002. I was never aware of it being charged off, and it was paid off either way. I was asking why it was not reported as a charge off until 9 years after the fact and why it would even be on my report after 7 years if it was a charge off and just got treated rudely and dismissed. I'm not sure what else to do at this point, but I obviously don't want this on my credit report. It's only on my EQ report so was hoping it would be an easy fix since I want to buy a house this year. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Booner72
Senior Contributor

Re: Help With Credit Dispute