Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help in reaching the 700's

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help in reaching the 700's

Hi everyone! This is my first time writing here, after reading for a few weeks, trying to take in as much information as possible. Here's my situation :

I was always a bit afraid of looking at my credit, I've had years of low income before I went back to college after a failed first career. Let's just say that I didn't do much credit building during those years, other than a 9000$ car loan that I've finished paying 4 years ago. I'm now 30, I have a good job with good income. I pay everything on time but I only have revolving credit, no loans or anything like that.

When I was finishing college about three years ago, I've had a major setback. I was working 25 hours a week in order to pay for my studies and therefore using as little student loans as possible. Everything went great until one day, the company I was working for started acting weird. Pay started being late, we'd get checks a few days late instead of direct deposit. One day, out of the blue, without any warning, the company went bankrupt, leaving me with a month of salary that I would never ever see and no more income on the horizon.

I managed to stay current on my student credit card but I had this one store card that I really let slip. The amount owed really wasn't that big, like 300$ at most, but I let months pass without payement. The account would go 2-3 months late until I got a job and fixed all that. Overall, there was six negative report on this account. The last negative report is dated from October 2011.

About 6 months later, I pulled my credit report and my score was 630. Not good, but not as catastrophic as I thought it would be. Since then, I have nothing but good, positive credit information.