Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with balance transfers

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help with balance transfers

Okay, I need help here. I'm kinda new to credit cards, so I don't know what affects my credit. However I have noticed ever since I got credit cards my credit rating has dropped. I used to have credit of about 700. Last month when I signed up for CK I had a 681 and now it says its 671. From what I been reading its probably because my cards are close to being maxed out. I used to think as long as I'm never late on my cards even if I paid the minimum it would help my credit but I've learned now I am wrong. I currently have two cards. A Discover card that has $2,000 limit and I only have 11 dollars available. I also have a Citi bank card where I have used up 772.00 of 1,000 available dollars. I'm already paying interest on both cards. On my discover card I have a 19.99% on my citi card Im not sure of my percentage but I believe its 19.99 also. CK recommended to me to get a Chase Slate card which has no APR for 15 months and recommends for me to balance transfers to save money. I was approved for the card and have a $2,000 card limit however I have a worse APR after the 15 months is done, its 22.99%. So this is my thinking and tell me if my thoughts are right... Should I transfer ALL of my Discover card to Chase or just half or so? Also once the 15 months are done should I change over to a new card or cancel my Chase card since its a higher APR? What do you all recommend in my situation?? Also I plan on trying to pay off my cards as much as I can in the next 15 months, so if I can somehow make it be a 0 balance is that good or a small balance is better?  I thought once I finish my balance I could close the cards but I hear that isn't good for my credit?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
bdhu2001
Valued Contributor

Re: Help with balance transfers

@Anonymous wrote: