Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with dispute - CRA listing lates AFTER I filed BK

tag
MsPeach

Help with dispute - CRA listing lates AFTER I filed BK

Ok, I'm new to this so bear with me..

Dispute 2 late TLs with TU and EX - these 2 TLs were listing late payments after I filed BK. 1 TL is listed as CO on TUs payment timeline, although it does list IIB in the header. I know this is wrong and that my disputes are legit.. I asked for the TLs to be removed, citing FCRA and that these lates are false..

So I receive a letter from one of the credit companies saying things such as 'we received info from the CRAs' 'the disupte didn't explain things clearly,' 'if you wish to dispute this item, please write us at ______ address.'  I'm summing up the quotes, they are not verbatim..

I also saw a hard pull on my report from this company about 2 weeks after I sent the letters to the CRAs..

I have checked my credit monitering program (I see all 3 reports), and the TLs are still there. Granted 45 days have not passed and I have not received any letters from TU or EX yet. I did dispute via mail..

I know I have to wait until 45 days, but my question is: I dispute this info with the CRAs, right? I don't ask for a GW from the company - this is false reporting, the company must respond to the CRA, and then I can escalate it if they don't delete, right?

I've read a lot, but obviously there's a difference between straight learning and the application of the law/methods of credit repair...

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Help with dispute - CRA listing lates AFTER I filed BK

Message 2 of 9
MsPeach

@guiness56 wrote:

Even though the account is listed IIB the creditor can continue to report lates until the BK is discharged.

This flies in the face of what I've read about bankruptcy law.. from my research, they cannot list lates after I file.. (e.g. if I file in March, they cannot list a late in May)