cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How Will Debt Consolidation Affect My Credit Score & Ability to Obtain Future Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How Will Debt Consolidation Affect My Credit Score & Ability to Obtain Future Credit

I am a self employed contractor.

I have a total of about $54K in credit debt, that breaks down like this:

(Only the underlined accts would be consolidated)

personal debt 

$7K - Citi/AT&T Univeral MC

$15K - BofA Gold Option (was told BofA wont work w/ me b/c of such high debt to low income ratio?)

$15K - AMEX

business debt,(but still my name)

$13K - Chase MC

$4K - Advanta MC

At last look, I had a FICO of 690.  I havn't been 30+ days late on any payment of any kind in over 11 years, but I am way broke right now b/c work has all but dropped off completely.  Given my current circumstance I thought it best to investigate ways to reduce monthly expense and hopefully become debt free in the near future.  So I spoke w/ a gentleman at In Charge Debt Solutions, (www.incharge.org), about debt consolidation.  It's my understanding that it is NOT a settlement, but MUCH lower interest rates would be negotiated.  I would in turn make 1 monthly payment to In Charge.  My currently monthly payment of $1,133.00 would become $916.00, (of which $49.00 is a payment to In Charge), and these balances would be paid off in about 54 months.

My questions are as follows:

1. Has anyone here used In Charge or familiar with them?

2. How does utilizing a service like this affect my credit score and ability to obtain future credit such as home loans?

3. If I do include the Chase MC, which is a true business credit card and my only one, how would that affect my business credit?

4. Is there a recommend company or organization that I SHOULD be contacting to do this?

5. Any and all useful information would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor