Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How annoying is this? Bad advice from Banks

tag
babymixer
Regular Contributor

How annoying is this? Bad advice from Banks

Okay, so credit and the whole process of it is fairly new to me.  (Thank goodness I found this forum!)

When I opened my checking/ savings account with BofA I proceeded to open a credit card with them also but it was secured and I was fine with that seeing as I have a very limited credit history. (i'm new to this country)

Prior to BofA, I had a checking/savings with HSBC and a secured card with them also. A very good relationship, paid cc in full every month but didn't like all the extra charges that they had on everything.  When I met up with a BofA  financial advisor, I was advised to close the account asap including my secured cc and once I move to them, I'd be well taken care of.  Well, she followed through on the taking care part since I now have a wonderful personal relationship with my bank. 

If only I found this forum before, I would have known that I was ill advised and that today I would have had 2 cc from prime lending institutions instead of just one.  My AAoA was affected too.  aye...

You guys have any similar stories?

cc's copy
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How annoying is this? Bad advice from Banks

The AAoA wouldn't be impacted for many years, at least as long as it reports, since closed accounts still factor into AAoA (per FICO scoring). And the prime doesn't matter, though many would argue that HSBC is subprime. I had them and I thought they were great. I think the sales person directed you to close HSBC to direct more spending on BofA. IMO, you would have been better off not closing it, but you'll have more opportunities going forward to replace that.

@babymixer wrote:

You guys have any similar stories?