cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I prioritize needs and credit issues?

tag
w87

How do I prioritize needs and credit issues?

Hello - thank you for reading this.

I am a young professional who has let her financial life spiral out of control. I've dug myself into a hole I can't get out of on my own knowledge.

My immediate need is transportation. After having a repo in 2011, I was able to get another car in 2013. Unfortunately I fell behind in payments again and four months ago after the engine blew, the car was repo'd. I've been blessed to have a coworker transport me to and from work, but that needs to change soon. I can't seem to get approved with the down payment that I can afford ($500).

The repossession is not the only thing that has bruised my credit. I have over $100k in student loans. $29k is in collections, Sallie Mae is being paid, and my federal loans are deferred. On top of that I have the stupidest things in collections - cell phones, parking tickets, etc. You may ask why not pay it off? I have low income. I struggle making my monthly rent and expenses. However, in November I will get a pay increase, but what do I do in the meantime to improve my situation?

Breakdown:

Income $27k (also get varying commission)

Credit Card: Limited - Bal: $244 (current on min payment)

Collections:
NCO - $29k
Traffic Tickets - $355
Verizon - $528
Tmobile - $921
Comcast - $78

Student Loans
Sallie Mae -$89k
Fed -$35k

I currently have $600 to my name with weekly pay and rent due on the 1st. I don't have family support. It's just me.

I recognize that I have bad financial habits and I feel trapped and stressed. Thank you for your responses and support. I look forward to getting on track.

Starting Score: 568
Current Score: 568
Goal Score: 680

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Glkslngr
Frequent Contributor

Re: How do I prioritize needs and credit issues?