tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How long will it take to improve my credit

Let me begin with my credit situation.

Eq: 605, 4 collections, 1 judgement
Tr: 636, 10 collections, 2 judgements
Ex: 626, 4 collections, 0 judgement

I have read about pay to delete (goodwill letters) and I am interested in them. On four of the accounts are low (under $500) and were placed within the past 2 years. The others are old and supposed to delete next year, problem is they should've came off my credit report this year but were sold and placed as new. I contacted the credit bureaus about them, but haven't heard anything.

Regarding the judgements. I live in California. They will be with me for 10 years, unless they renew. They are also supposed to be deleted from my credit report in June and October. I don't know if I can do a goodwill letter and pay a lower amount seeing as how they are judgements.

I am also a full time student and have a little over $24,000 in student loan debt. I don't plan on taking out another student loan, but it's listed as 13 installments on my credit report.

I also have 7 credit cards (limits: 200, 300, 300, 300, 300, 400, 500), and 6 store cards (150, 300, 300, 600, 600, 3000), and an authorized user on 7 credit cards. I have about 17 inquries because I just opened all those accounts this year. I have kept my limit at or below 10%.

My questions are:

1. What letter should I write to the collection agencies to lower how much I pay them, and have it deleted from my credit report?
2. How long does it take to have it removed?
3. How can I handle my judgements?
4. How much will my credit improve once the baddies are deleted?

I hope that gives a wholistic view on my situation.
Thanks

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: How long will it take to improve my credit

Transfer of ownership should not affect the exclusion of a collection on the same debt.