Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to go about settling with Kohls?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to go about settling with Kohls?

So, I'm new to attempting to fix my credit stuff and I'm pretty confused about how to go about it.

I called Kohls today to try and settle my $560 charge-off (was going to offer $300), and they tell me that I have to deal with Progressive (the CA) as it has been referred to them.  I'm confused because my credit report shows Kohls reporting the debt/charge-off and nothing about the collection agency.  I was hoping to get a PFD or settle and send a GW letter, but I'm confused as to whether I sould send the letters to Kohls or to Progressive?

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How to go about settling with Kohls?

@Anonymous wrote:

So, I'm new to attempting to fix my credit stuff and I'm pretty confused about how to go about it.

I called Kohls today to try and settle my $560 charge-off (was going to offer $300), and they tell me that I have to deal with Progressive (the CA) as it has been referred to them.  I'm confused because my credit report shows Kohls reporting the debt/charge-off and nothing about the collection agency.  I was hoping to get a PFD or settle and send a GW letter, but I'm confused as to whether I sould send the letters to Kohls or to Progressive?

Getting a PFD with an OC is tough though not impossible the older the debt the better. If they have sold the debt off to the CA then you cannot deal with Kohls at all and Kohls has to update the balance to 0, you would then be dealing with the CA/JDB offering them payment in exchange for it not reporting. If Kohls still owns it send PFD letter offer to the office office of the CEO.

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable