Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to settle payment for collections?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to settle payment for collections?

I am a newbie to rebuilding my credit. I would like to thank all of you for the advice and post I have already read. It's a blessing to have found this site.
I have 3 accounts in collections. 1-apartment balance for breaking the lease 3989.00. 2-security deposit for breaking that lease 500.00. 3- medical bill 500.00. How would I settle these debts for a lower amount? What amount should I offer?
I also have a credit union charge off/bad debt of 185.00. How do I tackle this as well?
Any advice is welcomed. I need to get started to see an increase in my scores so I can get a secured credit card. I would like to work on these bad items so I can get a score boost and get approved. I don't have any credit cards at all as of now. Thanks in advance for your input and advice.
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
newstart2010
Blogger

Re: How to settle payment for collections?

You need to send a Debt Validation (DV) letter to all of them, including the charge off, and then once you have them validated you need to send a Pay For Deletion letter (PFD) in combination with a settlement offer.  The charge off I would offer 25% of the original debt.  The collections I would offer 45%-55% and see if they counter the offer.  You want to make sure you have an agreement back from them in writing that states the amount you need to pay and that they will delete the trade lines before sending them the PFD offers.

Also make sure you have the money for the settlements you offer before sending them.  That way you don't renig on your offer to them.

Good luck!  and welcome to the boards!

I live my life like I type, fast and with a lot of mistakes.
Spacebar broken. Watch for finger.

02/04/2015 || TU 08: 728 EX 08: 709 EQ 08: 748

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable